As a result, the title was essentially a regional title rather than a national one. The NWA Americas Heavyweight Championship was the top singles championship in the National Wrestling Alliance's Los Angeles territory, known officially as NWA Hollywood Wrestling, from 1968 until the promotion closed in 1982. Over its history, the title was held by stars including Bobo Brazil, The Sheik, Wilbur Snyder, Johnny Valentine, and multi-time AWA World Heavyweight Champions Verne Gagne and Dick the Bruiser. It was later renamed the National TV Championship. There were a total of 116 reigns in the eight year lifetime of the championship. In the merger the USWA replaced both the WCWA World Tag Team Championship and the CWA Tag Team Championship with the USWA version. While the current Mid-Atlantic promotion operates primarily out of the same area as the Crockett promotion, they aren't the same as Jim Crockett, Jr. sold his territory to Ted Turner in November 1988. It lasted from 1957 until 1969, when it was replaced with the NWA Western States Heavyweight Championship. While the National Wrestling Alliance recognized only one World Heavyweight Champion, there were multiple "NWA United States Heavyweight Champion"s, as many NWA-affiliated promotions/"territories" across the U.S. each had its own version of an "American" or "United States" championship. Title was the promotion's primary singles championship. The NWA World Television Championship is a championship of the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA). For several months in 2012, a new Championship Wrestling from Florida affiliated with the NWA, briefly reviving the title until NWA Florida Underground Wrestling took over the championship. Copyright © 1995-2020 SAW International Heavyweight Championship, This page was last edited on 2 November 2019, at 09:04. Date Event Location Reign Days National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) / Jim Crockett Promotions 1 Danny Miller February 27, 1974 Live event Raleigh, North Carolina 1 72 Miller defeated Ole Anderson in a tournament final to become the first NWA Mid-Atlantic Television Champion. A version of the Missouri Championship has been documented to exist in 1899, 1921, 1933 to 1934, 1937, 1947, 1950, and 1954 to 1955, but it was only in 1972 that a serious championship was established. It started in 1937 and was abandoned in 1949. In 1980 the Southern Division was abandoned and the Northern Division of the NWA Southern Tag Team Championship became the main title of SECW. Privacy The title was relegated to serve as the secondary tag team championship in Crockett's territory after Mid-Atlantic created its own territorial version of the NWA World Tag Team Championship in January 1975 and was used until sometime in 1985 when it was abandoned. In spite of its name, the championship was never defended on a national basis but, rather, it was used only within the territorial region in which Georgia Championship Wrestling ran its operations. Rich vacated the title in order to pursue. The USWA closed in 1997, with PG-13 as the final champions. The USWA World Tag Team Championship was the primary professional wrestling tag team championship promoted by the Memphis, Tennessee based United States Wrestling Association (USWA). In 2000, the title was revived for the Mid-Atlantic territory. During this time, it was referred to as the NWA Gulf Coast Louisiana Heavyweight Championship until 1972. The NWA Missouri Heavyweight Championship was the secondary singles championship in the National Wrestling Alliance's St. Louis Wrestling Club and Central States Wrestling promotions in the 1970s and 1980s. The Mid-South Louisiana Heavyweight Championship was a secondary professional wrestling championship that was used and defended from 1964 though 1983. On April 21, 1985, the championship was abandoned. This promotion would then be renamed World Championship Wrestling. to these sites/people. No. Its current titleholder is Aron Stevens, who is in his first reign. It was originally known as the Chicago version and contested on shows produced by Fred Kohler Enterprises. Date Event Location Reign Days Days recog. The title lasted from 1969 to 1975. Southern All-star Wrestling later known as Showtime All-star Wrestling created the SAW Television Championship in 2007 then later changed its name to the SAW International Heavyweight Championship in June 2008. Bockwinkel defeated El Mongol in a rematch. Credits for information on this site are given The NWA World Television Championship started out as the NWA Mid-Atlantic Television Championship in 1974. in 1974. In 2009, Pro Wrestling Fusion revived the title until they left the NWA in 2011. It was picked back up in 1966 by CWF and lasted until 1987 when the company was purchased by Jim Crockett Promotions. It started as the NWA Georgia Television Championship. Different titleholders may be known for the same year, for example, but it is not known who held the title before whom. Figure that out by yourself. It is the earliest regional tag team title in to be defended in the Pacific coast of the United States, along with the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Championship, and was originally defended in Honolulu, Hawaii. Initially, the championship originated in the NWA affiliated Gulf Coast Championship Wrestling. During this time, the title was the primary tag team championship that was defended in Mid-Atlantic Championship Wrestling owned by Jim Crockett, Sr. and later by his son, Jim Crockett, Jr.. The title held that status until late summer 1985, when the title was renamed the UWA Tag Team Championship upon All-Star Wrestling's departure as a member of the National Wrestling Alliance, aside from the period from June 1966 to December 1967, when the promotion had a version of the NWA World Tag Team Championship, which was abandoned after that time. Vacates sometime after 80/05/04 for the world title shot. The NWA Detroit United States Heavyweight Championship was a version of the NWA United States Heavyweight Championship contested in Big Time Wrestling from 1959 until 1980. The NWA National Championship is a professional wrestling championship owned and promoted by the U.S.-based, National Wrestling Alliance (NWA). The NWA Macon Tag Team Championship was a tag team professional wrestling championship in Georgia Championship Wrestling, defended exclusively on events held at the Macon City Auditorium and Macon Coliseum in Macon, Georgia. These are usually matches that certainly took place, but where there is doubt that the wrestler shown should be recognized as a true title holder. Champion Championship change Reign statistics Notes Ref. It started in 1964 and was unified in 1981 with the NWA National Heavyweight Championship. Beginning in '72, the title was used in the NWA affiliated NWA Tri-State then was called the NWA Tri-State Louisiana Heavyweight Championship from 1972 until 1979. Indicates a gap in the listing where title changes are not known. The promotion awarded Cactus Jack and Scott Braddock the championship after they won the WCWA championship on August 4, 1989. It was usually dominated by the area's top star, Harley Race, and as such it was considered a "stepping stone" to the NWA World Heavyweight Championship. The NWA National Television Championship was a secondary singles championship in the National Wrestling Alliance's Georgia Championship Wrestling territory.