Formative years and the Welsh-Scottish League. [1][3] The Pro12 name was adopted in 2011 to reflect that the league now included teams from outside the Celtic nations. Connacht: John Porch; Peter Sullivan, Tom Farrell, Bundee Aki, Alex Wootton; Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan, Finlay Bealham, Gavin Thornbury, Quinn Roux, Jarrad Butler (capt), Conor Oliver, Paul Boyle. Read on as we explain how to watch a Leinster vs Ulster live stream today and catch all the Pro14 final action online. Click here for the latest club news. The 14 teams were split into two conferences of seven teams each. It was agreed that the Celtic League would become the sole professional league of the three countries, incorporating the four Irish, three Scottish and five new Welsh professional teams. [45], In September 2020 the league confirmed they were looking for a replacement team for Southern Kings and possible expansion to more teams in South Africa to enter the league in 2021. Can you answer these questions? Despite these problems, the league enjoyed its most successful season, with the record attendance at a Celtic League match being broken four times, from 12,436 at the match between the Cardiff Blues and the Newport Gwent Dragons in December to 15,327 for the match between the Cardiff Blues and Leinster at the Millennium Stadium. The current sponsorship deal with Guinness commenced at the beginning of the 2014–15 season. The total attendances for the season were up nearly 50,000 at 571,331 compared to 521,449 for the previous season. The league has used a play-off structure since the 2009–10 season to determine the champions, similar to that used in the English Premiership. The Scottish teams and particularly Glasgow came of age and had a fine season, finishing third in the end. Despite not ultimately finishing top of the league, they converted their form into a maiden championship title in the post-league play-off matches, including a home semi-final victory over reigning champions Glasgow Warriors, and the Pro12 Final against league-topping Leinster at the neutral venue of Murrayfield Stadium in Edinburgh. Originally, Super Rugby was played by the three nations, New Zealand, Australia, and South Africa. On 2 May 2013, Sky Sports announced that it had agreed a four-year deal to broadcast 33 live matches each season. By 2001, an agreement was made with the Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU) to bring in the four Irish provinces. Until and including the 2008–09 season, the champions were decided solely on the basis of who finished top of the league table, but since the 2009–10 season, the league champion has been decided by a play-off series, in line with other rugby club competitions such as Super Rugby, Top 14, and the English Premiership: at the conclusion of the regular season, the top four placed teams enter the semi-final stage, with the winner of the first vs fourth and second vs third play-offs entering the final (known as the "grand final" in 2010 and 2011). (CH) Champions.

[49], Champions Leinster failed to make the quarter-final stage in 2003. In the end Leinster topped the table, having led for most of the season. Find out more about the eir broadband deals here. If you want to tune in to Connacht v Glasgow from New Zealand, the match kicks off at 4.15am on Sky Sport NZ Select. This creates a twenty one match regular season before the play-offs. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<. VPNs allow you to get around any geo-blocking by changing your IP address so you appear in a different location and can watch the same legal Pro14 live stream you would at home. Glasgow . If you’re in Austria, Germany, Italy or Switzerland, you can watch Connacht v Glasgow (kick-off 6.15pm) through the live and on-demand streaming service DAZN, which is compatible with smart TVs and phones, tablets, PCs, streaming sticks, set-top boxes, gaming consoles and more. Connacht v Glasgow live stream: How to watch from anywhere. The 2009–10 season was the last 10-team league as the Italian teams joined in 2010–11. Plus, ExpressVPN comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee. So we know we need to make The Sportsground a fortress.”. Please check the sport you are most interested in so that we can update you with the most relevant news. 8:15pm. [25], At the end of the 2011–12 season, however, Aironi were no longer available to compete in future competitions as a regional club, as, on 6 April 2012, they were refused a licence to continue on financial grounds. However, despite this approach, Munster finished second and Leinster third, with Munster winning the Celtic Cup. Jarrad Butler begins his third season as Connacht captain. Everyone is really excited to get back out playing at Scotstoun after such a long time away.”. Following the decision of Super Rugby organiser SANZAAR to drop three teams from the competition (two from South Africa), multiple media reports indicated that the two likeliest South African sides to be axed, the Cheetahs and Southern Kings, could be added to Pro12 as early as the 2017–18 season. The delayed start to the season, and absence of established international players during international Test and Six Nations windows, arguably gave some advantage to 'lesser' teams, and Connacht, coached by Pat Lam, duly led the league for much of the season. They then went on to comfortably beat Scarlets 28–17 in Belfast, while Leinster were hard pressed by Glasgow in a tense 17–15 win for the hosts. This, combined with the ongoing uncertainty surrounding the future of the European Cup, meant that there were concerns over the future commercial viability of the tournament. The SRU and IRFU then threatened to expel the Welsh sides from the Celtic League in June 2005.